Welcome to Love Books, where books are our passion. We offer a tightly curated, well-edited range of classy books that make book buying an exciting and inspiring experience. Please pop in and chat to our friendly, helpful and passionately bookie staff.

OCTOBER NEWS
Events

Monday 6 October – 6:00 for 6:30 pm – The event we’ve been waiting for all year - Geoff Dyer in conversation with Ivan Vladislavic. RSVP essential to kate@lovebooks.co.za or 011 726 7408.

Wednesday 8 October - 6:00 for 6:30 pm - William Kentridge launches his beautiful new book Six Drawing Lessons. Please note, we are full for this event.

Monday 13 October – 6:00 for 6:30 pm - It’s Man Booker time and we host our annual Booker spotting evening with the wonderful writerly folk from allaboutwriting. We are delighted that actors Neil McCarthy and David Butler will be reading extracts from the shortlisted books. RSVP essential to kate@lovebooks.co.za or 011 726 7408.

Tuesday 14 October – 6:00 for 6:30 pm – We launch Don’t Film Yourself Having Sex, with the very sassy Emma Sadlier and Tamsyn de Beer. Come along to hear about how you and your children should be using social media. Not to be missed and essential to RSVP to kate@lovebooks.co.za or 011 726 7408.

Thursday 16 OctoberPLEASE NOTE THIS LAUNCH HAS BEEN CANCELLED. We launch Greg Mills’ latest book Why States Recover.

Wednesday 22 October - 6:00 for 6:30 pm – We launch Pamela Nomvete’s autobiography, Dancing to the Beat of the Drum. Pamela will be in conversation with Lebo Mashile. RSVP to kate@lovebooks.co.za or 011 726 7408.

Thursday 23 October - 6:00 for 6:30 pm - We launch 21 Icons, Adrian Steirn’s magnificent photographic project documenting iconic South Africans. RSVP to kate@lovebooks.co.za or 011 726 7408.

Wednesday 29 October - 6:00 for 6:30 pm – Launch of Third World Child, the fascinating autobiography of GG Alcock, who will be in conversation with Rian Malan. RSVP to kate@lovebooks.co.za or 011 726 7408.

Thursday 30 October - 6:00 for 6:30 pm – Join us as we host novelist Priscilla Holmes for the launch of her book Now I See You. RSVP to kate@lovebooks.co.za or 011 726 7408.



Our launches are supported by Joostenberg, delicious organic wines from the family estate in Stellenbosch.



Story time continues as always at 10 o’clock on Saturdays. It’s for 4 to 8 year old’s (but younger are more than welcome with their parents), doesn’t cost you a cent, and earns you a punch on your Love Books Literary Punch Card. We look forward to seeing you there.



Don’t forget to use your Love Books Literary Punch Card – 10 punches = 10% discount. You get a punch for every R300 you spend, for being at a launch, for buying the book we’re launching, and for coming to storytime.



Please note that all titles are subject to availability and we are happy to order anything that might be out of stock.



Enter your email address to subscribe to our newsletter

October must-read

The Keeper, by Marguerite Poland (R235.00)
Set in a lighthouse on a godforsaken island off the coast of Port Elizabeth, this magnificent novel follows the story of lighthouse keeper Hannes Harker and his wife Aletta, as they attempt to live out their lives, both as individuals and as a couple, in this isolated posting. Told through Hannes’ broken conversations with a nurse as he recuperates in hospital after an accident, this novel will, like all Poland’s writing, get right under your skin. It’s a story about the power of love and secrets and Marguerite’s hauntingly beautiful prose is a privilege to read.
Also available in an Afrikaans translation by Daniel Hugo as Die Bewaker.

Order a copy



More must-reads


The Children Act, by Ian McEwan (R295.00)
For religious reasons, a young boy refuses a blood transfusion that will save his life. The courts intervene, and high court judge Fiona Maye is called upon to pass judgement. Her intervention becomes personal when she goes to see the beautiful, poetic boy in his hospital bed. A beautifully told and compelling story with an absorbing moral dilemma at it’s heart. . Order a copy






The Alibi Club, by Jaco van Schalkwyk (R210.00)
1998 - An Afrikaans boykie arrives in New York. He becomes a bartender at The Alibi – a dirty, downtrodden dive of a place in a neighbourhood just waiting to be gentrified. The characters hang onto their seedy existence in the face of developers and rich young couples. We see 9/11 through the hazy, drunken eyes of Jaco and his fellow drunks at the club. This is part memoir, part fiction, a genre that we’re seeing more and more of, particularly on the local scene. Brilliant writing, and a fantastic debut from Van Schalkwyk, who is an artist and musician. Also available in Afrikaans as Die Alibi Klub.
Order a copy




Another Great Day at Sea: Life aboard the USS eorge H.W.Bush, by Geoff Dyer(R730.00)
The latest non-fiction book (or essay) from this rock star of the literary world is a funny, beautifully-written trip into the heart of an aircraft carrier. Packaged with photographs by Chris Steele-Perkins, this is an unusual and handsome book. We love what Steve Martin has to say about it ‘A rare kind of non-fiction, with sentences that keep on giving long after your eye has sailed on’. This of course applies to all of Dyer’s writing, and as you know by now, he’s in Jozi for a while so we have a fantastic selection of his titles for you, all signed. Do pop in.
Order a copy



Children’s must-read

Solitaire, by Alice Oseman(R142.00)
A mysterious group of pranksters is playing tricks on the kids at Harvey Greene Grammar School. Tori Sprong likes to blog and she likes to sleep, but things are changing. 18-year-old Alice Oseman’s debut novel has attracted a lot of attention - it’s even been referred to as ‘The Catcher in the Rye for the digital age’. For fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell. Age 14+. Order a copy